Home » Uncategorized » BBC Radio – The Infinite Monkey: Science Communication

BBC Radio – The Infinite Monkey: Science Communication

I have just listened to the Infinite Monkey Cage on BBC iplayer, the final episode of series 9. I really enjoy this program, really insightful with funny and intelligent guests discussing different aspects of science. This episode focused on Science Communication and whether it is important and how it has changed over time. The basic answer is yes it’s important but it’s changed a lot and there’s still more to do.

I personally think it’s very important to try and get science across to the masses and public and I certainly want to share my knowledge with others (hence this blog!) and I want to keep learning things. I can see that if people have a bad experience with science, e.g. at school, like with anything it might be harder to get them involved or interested – but that’s not to say we can’t try! I would like to see more science based documentaries on TV, exploring all different types of science. Luckily many scientists and enthusiasts want to share their knowledge and with the ability to create pod casts and websites it is easier for them to do this. However, I definitely agree with the statement James Burke, a science historian and guest on this episode, said that TV programs should never ‘ask what the audience wants, but give it what it needs’. (Listen at around 25mintues on the broadcast). I thought this was great I definitely would stand this!

Find the episode here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03m43fx

Leave a Reply

