Home » What I've been up to » Ben Garrod’s Secrets of Bones Ep. 1

Ben Garrod’s Secrets of Bones Ep. 1

Ben Garrod. image taken from http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03vrtkp

Ben Garrod. image taken from http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03vrtkp

I’ve just finished watching Ben Garrod on BBC4s Secret of Bones. What can I say it was awesome! I loved that it looked at different animals and their skeleton – comparative anatomy is one of my favourite subjects within the study of the bones. I definitely would recommend this programme to anyone who has an interest in the natural world and it is completely suitable for those with a background knowledge of the skeleton and for those who just have an interest.

Ben Garrod is an evolutionary biologist who has a particular love of bones – he can even put them back together to create displays and educational pieces. He is currently doing a PhD in primate evolution and morphometrics and I wish him the best of luck with it (I’m very jealous!).

I am very much looking forward to the rest of the series not only for its wonderful presentation and information but also because it made me smile. I especially liked the bit about the rhino skeleton – you’ll have to watch the programme to find out about this incredible animal – particularly for the film of it runny, for some reason I’m always reminded of a happy staffy puppy bounding along! Oh and of course it was about bones – so of course I was going to enjoy it!

One thought on “Ben Garrod’s Secrets of Bones Ep. 1

  1. Pingback: Ben Garrod's Secrets of Bones | Beauty in the Bones | My Website

Leave a Reply

