Home » Uncategorized » International Women’s Day – Which Women Inspire You?

International Women’s Day – Which Women Inspire You?

As it’s International Women’s day I thought that it would be appropriate to write about which women have inspired me. Why don’t you do the same?

I admire a lot of women, particularly in the field of science as that is my own area of knowledge but I always remember seeing Professor Alice Roberts with her bright red hair on TV. To be honest I think she was one of the reasons that I liked the study of human remains so much – as she appeared on the TV programme ‘Time Team’ as an osteologist.For me she always had the most interesting part of the dig, plus I always wanted red hair after seeing hers! Alice Roberts also featured whilst I was at University presenting programmes on human evolution and as that was my degree I was obviously drawn to her. In 2012 she was made Professor of Public Engagement in Science at Birmingham University. She is passionate about her subjects and is eager to learn more and then share it with others. She was always an ideal to me growing up and is still an inspiration to me even now.

Alice Roberts is one of the women I look up to in science but suppose my biggest inspiration is my mum. She hasn’t done anything absolutely crazy but she is awesome. I go to her with any problem I have big or small and she will always have some good advice and knows what I need to hear. She doesn’t sugar coat things and is extremely realistic – but in a good way. She is also the strongest women I know. When I was about ten my parents got a divorce and around the same time, and one year later, both her parents had passed away. Through all of this she was strong, calm and held everything together. I don’t think either my sister or I really knew what was happening or how much she was going through because she got herself, and us, through this difficult time remarkably smoothly. I know realise that as each year goes by I become more and more similar to my Mum, I have similar attitudes and opinions and I think I behave in a similar way and I love it. Whenever anyone says ‘you’re just like you’re Mum’ I feel a sense of pride. Now if I could be even a little bit as an amazing parent as her when I have kids I know they’ll be OK. Thanks Mum!

Now it’s your turn. Which woman, or women, inspires you the most!

2 thoughts on “International Women’s Day – Which Women Inspire You?

  1. Sammy, thank you for this wonderful post! My mum is also the woman who inspires me most. She went through hard times and yet she always looked after me. With her I share my thoughts and fears and she always gives her support.

    Today, on International Women’s Day, many people share some love and a compliment. I believe we have to do this more often – even the smallest gesture of regard and some little moment of kindness can have a great impact.

    That’s why I’m intending to write a newspaper article about complimenting and its beautiful effects when people actually mean what they say. I try to collect compliments, so if you want to take part – just submit a compliment you recently paid or received by commenting on this post: http://nothingofthekind.wordpress.com/2014/03/07/my-best-compliments/.
    I would be honoured if you could take part in this project as it means a lot to me.

    Like

    • Thank you for your amaming reply and the compliment. I’ll head over to your post and I’ll get involved in the project – it sounds like a really nice idea!

      Like

Leave a Reply

