Home » Bone of the Month » Population genetic structure in polar bears from Hudson Bay, Canada

Population genetic structure in polar bears from Hudson Bay, Canada

As it’s the start of a new month I am thinking of my next animal of choice for my next installment of ‘Skull of the month‘. I haven’t quite worked out which one I want to choose just yet but I’m quite tempted to look at on of the vertebrates features on the ‘Secrets of Bones’.

In the mean time I wanted to add one final article to last month’s animal, the Polar bear, and came across this research looking into the genetic structure of bears in Hudson Bay, Canada. Unfortunately I have quite a lot on this week so I haven’t read the article in detail yet so have not produced a summary for it – however, I intend to in the future and am using this post to keep track of it. I didn’t want to keep it to myself so thought I would share it, just in case any one was interested!

Access the article here with the citation: Crompton, A. E., M. E. Obbard, et al. (2008). “Population genetic structure in polar bears (Ursus maritimus) from Hudson Bay, Canada: Implications of future climate change.” Biological Conservation 141(10): 2528-2539.

Leave a Reply

