Home » What I've been up to » Terry Pratchett’s Image of the Auditors

Terry Pratchett’s Image of the Auditors

An Auditor of Reality. Image taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discworld_gods

An Auditor of Reality. Image taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discworld_gods

At work it’s audit time at the moment, which is great fun (not!) as it means I have to find various bits of paperwork, go through past expenses and to get information off the post-docs I work with. So far it’s not been too bad and it’s good for me to realise that I can do thing kind of thing.

Anyway I was thinking today that whenever I hear the word ‘audit’ I think of ben in cloaks standing together over the paperwork. I thought to myself why do I think this? Then I realised it’s all beacuse of Sir Terry Practchett. These things are ‘Auditors of Reality’ summed up well by the Discworld Wiki they are ‘ supernatural entities and the celestial bureaucrats. They make sure that gravity works, file the appropriate paperwork for each chemical reaction, and so forth.’ They have appeared in a few of Pratchett’s books and as it’s been a while since I’ve read any of them I did a quick Google search found this clip on youtube where they hire an assain to kill the Hogfather. I’m not going to do a summary of the story as I know they’ll be other, much better ones, than I can give here. Or I suggest reading the book – it’s awesome!

I think it’s pretty cool than a fictional character can shape you’re imagination and association with something without even realising it! I guess that’s the power of a good book and a good writer – their stories can enter your own mind and influence it.

This was a bit of a random post I know – but when I worked out where my image of auitors came from I had to talk about it. Any excuse to talk about Discworld and Terry Pratchett!

Leave a Reply

