Home » Musuem » Week 8 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 8 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Back again! Another week at the college going through boxes of bones again. I guess there isn’t much out of the ordinary this weeks part from a few interesting finds!

These cool finds and from one small box and contained a couple of gems! Firstly there were two first ribs which on their own weren’t particularly. However, it was what written on them which made them interesting. One had ‘4000 B. C. Egyptian’ and the second ‘Bronze Age Minorca’. I know hat writing on the bones directly isn’t great but in this case at least it meant we had some context. The one with ‘Minorca’ written was particularly interesting to me as Minorca is an alternative way of writing Menorca where I went on holiday recently! Pretty cool.

Another small bag in this little box contained three foetus scapulars. They were so small – the body of each one was no bigger than my thumb and my hands are small! These are the finds that always make my day and it just goes to show that you can never be sure of what you’ll find!

I also had a nice chat with the curator to give me some advice about my future career plans. Basically I have to think about what I want to do an how I’ll get there. Currently I have a few paths before me and it’s coming closure to the time where I’ll hear to pick one. I now need to do some hunting for information then sit down with it all in front of me. Only then will I be able to make some form of decision. At the moment I’m feeling calm about it but I’m sure I’ll become panicked at some point – I just need to remember to breathe and that it’ll be ok in the end!

Leave a Reply

