Home » What I've been up to » Week 10 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 10 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

This week…torsos! That’s sounds a little odd I know but if you’ve been reading my past entries you’ll know that for the last few weeks at the college we seem to have an abundance of an element, which varies from week to week. This week we had a lot of articulated torsos which included the ribs, vertebrae and sacrum, and then sometimes the scapulas and clavicles. They each came in their own box and most of them were only a little damaged, so they are potentially good teaching tools.

We also had a whole box of femurs, although we didn’t actually have time to go through that box so it’s probably waiting for me next week! Unfortaunatley next week I am going to be working on my own as the other volunteer is away for two months on an archaeological dig. I’m going to miss working with her – she was particualry good at the hand and foot bones! I suppose it’ll give me the opportunity to get to grips with all the bones and it will make me more confident with the bones that I have less experience and knowledge of. However, I wish her the best of luck and really hope she enjoys it (and doesn’t get too wet becuase of the English Summer!).

It’s a short one this week – it’s the boyfriend’s birthday this week and little time to prepare stuff. BBQ this sunday – let’s hope the Sun shines.

Leave a Reply

