Home » Terry Pratchett » The Wit and Wisdom of Discworld: Mort

The Wit and Wisdom of Discworld: Mort

The Wit and Wisdom of Discworld. Complied by Stephen Briggs

The Wit and Wisdom of Discworld. Complied by Stephen Briggs

I visited my Mum last week and stole this book from her! It was complied by Stephen Brigg’s by selecting extracts from all of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books. It contains, book by book, the blurb of the title and then witty, compelling quotes. These are sometimes a page in length or sometimes just a line long. I want to dip into this book every week and select my own snippet of Terry Pratchett’s work that I want to share with you.

I might end up making a page for this, but for now I’ll stick to posts. I’m writing this more for a selfish reason then anything else. I haven’t read these books for a while and want to get a taste of them again. I also want to share with others some of the wonderful words of Sir Pratchett with those who haven’t read his work. Maybe these quotes will pursuade you too!

I’m going to start with Mort. If I remember correctly it’s one of the first Pratchett novels that I read and I definietly thinks it’s a good place to start.

Here is the blurb:

‘Death comes to us all. When he came to Mort, he offered him a job. After being assured that being dead was not compulsory, Mort accepted. However, he soon found out that romantic longings did not mix easily with the resposibilities of being Death’s apprentice…’

And some of my favourite snippets:

– THANK YOU, BOY, said the skull. WHAT IS YOUR NAME? 

       ‘Uh,’ said Mort, ‘Mortimer…sir. They call me Mort.’

       WHAT A COINCEDENCE

– Ysabelle was heavily into frills. Even the dressing table seemed to be wearing a petticoat. The whole room wasn’t so much furnished as lingeried.

Death visits a job centre: ‘It would seem that you have no useful skill or talent whatsoever,’ Keeble said. “have you thought of going into teaching?’

   Death’s face was a mask of terror. Well, it was always a mask of terror, but htis time he meant it to be.

Mort drawn by Paul Kidby. Image taken from http://www.dvdizzy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27438&start=360

Mort drawn by Paul Kidby. Image taken from http://www.dvdizzy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27438&start=360

One thought on “The Wit and Wisdom of Discworld: Mort

Leave a Reply

