Home » Bone of the Month » Skull of the Month: the Hippo

Skull of the Month: the Hippo

Photo I took of the Hippo at the Grant Museum.

Photo I took of the Hippo at the Grant Museum.

Last month I decided not to do a ‘Skull of the Month‘ and I think that I’m going to make this one my last. This is because whilst I have enjoyed learning about animals and their bones I have found it difficult at times to find good material to read and report. Instead I intended to focus on cases studies of human pathology in the archaeological record. If I then come across interesting articles relating to animals and their bones I’ll include that too.

For this final Skull of the Month I have chosen the hippo (Hippopotamus amphibius). These mammals are incredible animals with a huge amount of power and strength. There’s no particular reason why I chose the hippo other than they are one of the most dangerous animals in the world and that I have a picture of a hippo skull which I took on my visit to the Grant Museum last month.

Visit the page here.

Leave a Reply

