Home » Musuem » Week 24 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 24 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Today I had a full day looking at the Tulsty Collection of infant skulls. It is extremely interesting and I am learning quite a few new terms.

These new terms relate to various diseases and skull shapes which have been observed on some individuals. Today I saw a few cases of anencephaly which causes portions of the skull to be absent and therefore produces skulls which are very interesting shape.

I have also seen a number of individuals who had some form of spins bifida. This condition greatly affects the spinal column as the vertebral arches do not fuse. It can also causes issues with the formation of the skull. I first encountered this disorder during a few classes at university. At some point I intend to write a post of spins bifida to give a better overview of the condition.

I would like to describe and discuss some more of the individuals in this collection but I can’t because it is such a sensitive collection. Some of the skulls that I have seen today are amazing and others have been recorded as having diseases/conditions that I haven’t heard of before. I am very glad, and lucky, to be so close to such a wonderful collection.

One thought on “Week 24 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

  1. Pingback: Around the Archaeology Blog-o-sphere Digest #5 | Doug's Archaeology

Leave a Reply

