Home » Musuem » Week 25 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 25 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

I can’t believe that’s is October already but it certainly felt like it! As soon as I stepped out of my front door it started to pour down with rain and if course it stopped over I arrived at the station. However I spotted a friend add I got on my train which made up for it. It definitely made the journey enjoyable!

I managed to get to the College without getting wet again and started on my days work. To begin with I had some skulls that needed to be added the inventory for the old project. There’s one cabinet left in the stores filled with individual skull boxes so I’m going to try and did a few boxes a week to finish the old project.

The rest of my day was spent getting inputting the data from the new project onto the museums database. This meant I had to learn about the system and which bits of information needed to be included. It wasn’t a particularly difficult process but there were plenty of things to remember. This included finding the recognisable terms on the database, inputting information from any written labels included with specimensĀ  and uploading the photos correctly.

I think I managed to pick up the process pretty quickly and I’m pleased to be getting involved with some of the museum processes. I’m not in next week as I will be celebrating my birthday, however I hope that I managed to remember how everything works so I can creak in with the project. It will be nice to have a range of things to do and I will be able to choose how much of each project I wish to complete on a weekly basis.

One thought on “Week 25 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

  1. Pingback: Around the Archaeology Blog-o-sphere Digest #6 | Doug's Archaeology

Leave a Reply

