Home » Musuem » Week 27 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 27 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

This week has been a bit slow of me but every Thursday I have something to look forward to and volunteering always picks me up. I was also cheered up by seeing soldiers selling poppies for rememberence day and a man playing the bag pipeline Waterloo station. After a quick walk to the College I was greated by a trolley full of skulls!

Like the past few weeks a started with the adult skulls. As with the previous ones they were simple to assess and it took only a short time to complete them. However I did notice that one individual had a metal filling. I find it slightly odd when I see things like this as I am used to much older skeletons because during my time at university the skeletons were from the medieval period. Is these little reminders that I am handling real people that died in the recent past.

I then moved on to the Tlusty project. I had a number of small boxes to go through each containing a cranium of an individual. By the end of the day I had photographed and inputted all of the information for the specimens into the excel database. The remainder of the day was spent updating the museum’s database although I didn’t get through all of them. I will probably stay next week by updating the last few records before moving on to any other specimen.

One thought on “Week 27 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

  1. Pingback: Around the Archaeology Blog-o-sphere Digest #9 | Doug's Archaeology

Leave a Reply

