Home » Musuem » Week 28 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 28 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

To be honest there isn’t much to add to previous posts about my volunteering work. I’ve been carrying out the same processes and tasks as last week, but with new specimens. I realise that some may find this boring/tedious but I love it. Thursdays at the College are my relief, I really enjoy being sat in a room with boxes containing amazing specimens. Every week I remember how lucky I am that I have been trusted to handle these fragile bones and few people will ever be able to see what I am getting the privilege to do. 

One additional aspect of this weeks volunteering was that I learnt that some of the specimens I have been working with have been seen by Digitised Diseases. This is an open access resource that scans human bones with a CT scanner to produce accurate 3D representations of bones. These include adults and juveniles and particularly pathological specimens. It’s a very interesting site and there are some incredible specimens that can be viewed!

Leave a Reply

