Home » Musuem » Week 31 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 31 Volunteering at the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

I had a shorter day at the College today as I wasn’t feel too great which was annoying. However, I did take photos and updated some on the museum database entries of quite a few specimens before I had to leave. There is little to add this week as most of the specimens displayed signs of anencephaly which I discussed last week. As with the last project I worked on, creating an inventory of a large collection of human remains, I have been able to see a large degree of variety in the specimens. In the last project I could see how varied a single bone could be from one individual to the next. In my current work I am able to observe the differences in the same condition which has affected multiple specimens.

I am enjoying my work at the College and realised that I have now been volunteering there for 9 months! It’s just flown by and still extremely grateful for being given the opportunity to work with these amazing collections. Next week is the Christmas drinks for the volunteers. It will be nice to meet some of the other people who give up their time for the museum and I’m interested to find out what they do. However, I cannot believe that it’s nearly December – where has this year gone?! Oh well, it’s been an OK year and I’ve had some great experiences, many at the Royal College of Surgeons.

Leave a Reply

