Home » Terry Pratchett » A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

Yesterday I came back from volunteering from the terribly sad news that Sir Terry Pratchett had died. I am so incredibly sad and I still can’t believe it. He was a wonderful, witty man who created a wonderful world that now exists in the hearts and minds so many people.

For me not only did Sir Terry write some beautiful books but he also created a connection between myself and my parents. When I was you I remember my Dad showing me the animation of Truckers and the book the Carpet People. When I was a little older I went to my Mum to recommend a good Discworld book to start on and this was when I was introduced to Mort. I still haven’t read every single Pratchett novel but I will. I will cherish each book knowing that there are only a limited number; in some ways making them even more special.

I know that Sir Terry’s work means a lot to so many people and his most famous character has also comforted many. Death is a beautiful creation and has become a real figure for many, including myself. It means that death is not a scary thing because you will not be alone. Death will meet and guide you to what ever is next. It has also allowed me to deal with Sir Terry’s death much more easily – to know that he has met his greatest creation is comforting. I have seen some beautiful fan art with Death and Sir Terry meeting. It’s still incredibly sad but at least there’s a smile and I like to think that they are now sat playing chess, as depicted in Paul Kidby’s art (see below).

Death and Sir Terry playing chess, by Paul Kidby. Image taken from http://www.paulkidby.net/index.php/gallery/bronzes-sculpture/artwork/artwork120713-2-80

Death and Sir Terry playing chess, by Paul Kidby. Image taken from http://www.paulkidby.net/index.php/gallery/bronzes-sculpture/artwork/artwork120713-2-80

The announcement of Sir Terry’s death was a beautiful and apt as any I could think of. A twitter post read “AT LAST, SIR TERRY, WE MUST WALK TOGETHER.” It made me stop in my tracks, but then a wonderful image of Sir Terry and Death walking off together will be one that will stay with me for a while. I think there is no better way now to grieve for this great man then by reading his books and it is what I will do tonight, and smile as I do so.

 In the words of Neil Gaimen, “I will miss you, Terry, so much.”

One thought on “A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

Leave a Reply

