Home » Musuem » Week 42 Volunteering At the Royal College of Surgeons

Week 42 Volunteering At the Royal College of Surgeons

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

Outside of the Royal College of Surgeons. Image taken from http://nobelbiocare-eyearcourse.com/fgdp.html.

This week at the College I started photographing and recording the deciduous teeth in the current collection. This is an extremely delicate task as the teeth are so small and fragile. I had to carefully line the teeth up, arranged by tooth type, and take a photograph using a 1cm scale bar for reference. 

It has been a little while since organising and arranging teeth so I had to refer to some textbooks to be certain. I attempted to arrange the teeth by type (incisor, canine and molar) and where possible I identified whether the teeth came from the maxilla (upper jaw) or mandible (lower jaw). This wasn’t too difficult for the incisors but I couldn’t always identify the molars and it was very hard to work out which jaw the canines came from. The difficulty of identifying theses teeth was a result of their size and age. The individuals I was working with were fetal or neo-natal and therefore only a small amount of dental development had occurred. This means that there is little to no development of the roots resulting in the crowns of the teeth being present, for example the canines only consist of a small triangle of enamel. The image below in the first pictures gives you an idea of the stage of development I am dealing with.

The stages of deciduous tooth development. Image taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teething#/media/File:TemporalTeethDeveploment.gif

The stages of deciduous tooth development. Image taken from here

By the end of this project I am going to be very well experienced in handling, tiny specimens as well as increasing my knowledge of deciduous teeth.

2 thoughts on “Week 42 Volunteering At the Royal College of Surgeons

  1. Hello! So happy to have stumbled on your site. I am a studio Art Major at Tennessee State University in Nashville, Tn USA. My thesis series work is on bone modification and beauty, the medium I’m orking in is collage . I currently have work on neck stretching , teeth sharpening, grills for teeth , the sexuality associated with bones , working on pieces for skull modification, foot binding, and corsetry. I’m trying to get more information on other types of bone modifications, and I was wondering if I could pick your brain about it ? My senior thesis show is this Friday , April 10, so I’m working like a mad woman to finish up three pieces . Would you mind helping me ?

    Like

    • Hi there sure I’m happy to help have you seen my page on skull modification? That has some information (http://wp.me/P43yrG-3o) . If you want send me an email via my contact page and we’ll be able to discuss things in more detail.

      What type of things would you like to know /find out?

      Like

Leave a Reply

