Home » Books » The New Children’s Laureate: Chris Riddell

The New Children’s Laureate: Chris Riddell

Chris Riddell with a illustration of Twig from the Edge Chronicles. Image taken from here.

Chris Riddell with an illustration of Twig from the Edge Chronicles. Image taken from here.

I was very pleased to find out today that the new Children’s Laureate has been announced and it is an author and illustrator who I am very fond of; Chris Riddell.

The Children’s Laureate is an award given to a writer or illustrator of children’s book to celebrate outstanding talent in their field. Previous Laureates have included Malorie Blackman, Jacqueline Wilson and Quentin Blake, but for me Chris Riddell holds a special place. As a kid I read a lot of the Jacqueline Wilson books and saw many illustrations by Quenin Blake in the Roald Dhal stories however it was Chris Riddell’s and Paul Stewart’s Edge Chronicles books that completely captivated me.

I distinctly remember receiving the Twig Trilogy as a present one birthday or Christmas and I instantly couldn’t put these books down. The stories were well written and exciting and the illustrations were incredible. I credit these books for sparking my imagination and seeing the enjoyment of reading. If you have never come across them read them, especially if you enjoy fantasy novels.

These books, and Chris Riddell, have a special place in my heart – and I now will go in search for my old copies of the Edge Chronicles so I can re-read them.

Leave a Reply

